Selecting THE wedding dress

The wedding’s finally over and my, I think the hiatus I’ve been on….just shows how busy I was with the wedding.

But it’s finally time to do some reviews, although I’m not sure how much motivation will I have to do them. But let’s start from the main thing I’ve been blogging about- the wedding dress.

So I’ve finally selected THE gown, on my 3rd time at the studio. Again, I must commend the studio for giving me the luxury of going down multiple times to try on as many gowns as I can.

Before this, I was really against lace. Actually, I still am, but I’m ok with French lace/ beads. So that’s exactly what THE gown was. I wanted a gown for my first march-in to be “WOW” and I think that was the one and only gown in the whole shop that gave me that feeling. It was off shoulders as well to my delight. The only issue was that, when I first tried it, the V plunge was soooooo huge that nobody approved of it. So I got them to sew it closer and wala, it worked! it was approved by the parents 🙂 So this was the one gown I refused to let go. I was so sure I wanted it.

ALL WAS SURE, but H wasn’t supportive of this dress. he just didn’t think it looks flattering on me. And even until final fitting day, he was just agreeing because I said I want it. not because he really liked it. But I must say, it was still a choice I don’t regret cause it definitely is fitting for the grandness of JW Marriott SB’s Ballroom.

1st march-in chosen gown

Now, for the 2nd white gown, I couldn’t find something I really liked. Like they were all “ok” but not like the same sureness I had for the other dress. But it was H who made the decision, because he somehow just liked this dress. I had nothing to complain about it, other than the fact that it was not as glittery as I would like it to. But I think the dress is made in such a way that it isn’t supposed to be glittery… cause the tulle is supposed to be the main “star”.

2nd white gown chosen for church

So this was actually the other dress I was considering.

This was also the dress that my parents selected. They preferred this over the other one, but H was adamant about the other one. So that’s how we picked the final dresses….I guess sometimes after all that long processes and all the pickiness of what I want and don’t want. The dress you pick just ends up really something in that moment, and just what you /your fiancé likes huh?

So, an overall review of The Gown Warehouse: 10/10 for service. The only thing I was disappointed by, was that the alteration wasn’t done that ideally. felt haphazard. but yea…I guess it’s the case everywhere. It was after all a rent and not customised…

Leave a comment